Energy Use & Climate Change Commission

Mission Statement

The Hamden Energy Use and Climate Change Commission was formed for two reasons:

  1. To help our town reduce its energy footprint in the interest of reducing its impact on Global Warming
  2. To assist the town in making wise investments regarding energy use and efficiency in the interest of saving the town money

To accomplish these twin goals, the Commission will, among other things, look for areas of inefficiency within the town and make recommendations for improving overall efficiency of the town’s buildings, fleet, etc., investigate and promote alternative power generation technologies, and encourage residents to take a proactive stance on energy use to improve our town, both environmentally and financially.


  • 7 p.m.
  • 2nd Monday of every month
  • Hamden Government Center
    3rd Floor Conference Room
    2750 Dixwell Avenue
    Hamden, CT 06518

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes

Contact Information

If you would like to email the chair of the Energy Use & Climate Change Commission, please email Lawrence Rosenthal at

If you would like to email the Energy Use & Climate Change Commission, please email


This commission consists of nine members, with no more than five of the same political party.  This three-year appointment is recommended by the Mayor, subject to the approval of the Legislative Council.

Lawrence E. Rosenthal - Chair
Timothy L. McKee
Hansel Hartman
Brendan Smith
Alison M. DeMaio

Susan Kulis
Henry P. Dynia
David Cooper
Martin Mador