Planning & Zoning Commission

Mission Statement

The Planning and Zoning Commission is responsible for land use planning and coordinated development of the Town in accordance with the Town Charter, the Plan of Conservation and Development, and State Statutes. The Commission proposes plans and policies that guide the physical development of the town. The Commission rules on a wide variety of land use applications including special permits, site plans, subdivision plans, amendments to land-use regulations, and re-zoning requests.

Click here for a list of Pending Applications

Please note that under Connecticut General Statutes Commissioners are not allowed to discuss pending applications with members of the public. If you wish to comment on an application, if it requires a Public Hearing you may submit your comments care of the Planning and Zoning Department and/or come to the relevant Planning and Zoning Commission meeting. The Commission agendas indicate when Public Hearings are to be held.

Meetings & Calendar

Planning and Zoning Commission meetings occur at 7PM on the second and fourth Tuesdays of every month at Memorial Town Hall, Legislative Council Chambers, 2372 Whitney Avenue, Hamden CT 06518. *Meetings may be held virtually on Zoom. Check agenda for more information.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes

Town Charter Rules Regarding Boards & Commissions:

The following is per our Town’s Charter:

  • Minority Party Representation: The political affiliation of the members of all appointed Boards or Commissions or panel of alternates shall reflect the requirements of the General Statutes with respect to minority party representation.
  • Geographical Areas of the Town: Best efforts shall be made to avoid the appointment of more than 1 member from the same Legislative Council District; however, under no circumstance shall more than 2 members be appointed from the same Legislative Council District.
  • Youth Representation: There shall be 2 non-voting positions on each Board and Commission for youths in the Town, ages 15 through 18, regardless of their status in a public or private high school, and they shall be residents of the Town.
  • Dual Appointment: No person may serve as an appointed member of more than one Board or Commission at the same time, with the exception of a Charter Revision Commission, other Boards or Commissions of finite duration, or appointment as a representative of the Town on regional entities.
  • Limitations of Service: On and after December 1st, 2023:
    • No person shall be appointed to a term on any Board or Commission if, at the time of the commencement of such new term, such person shall have served 12 consecutive years on such Board or Commission or, if during the subsequent term, said appointment would result in service in excess of said limitation of service. 
    • This limitation of service shall be applied to members of Boards and Commissions serving at the effective date of this provision. 
    • The time served by a person filling a partial term shall be counted toward the limitation of service. 
    • Any person whose term ends due to this provision may be reappointed to such Board or Commission after a lapse of 1 year. 

Specific to the Planning & Zoning Commission:

  • No member of the Planning and Zoning Commission shall appear for or represent any person, firm or corporation or other entity in any manner pending before the Planning and Zoning Commission or Zoning Board of Appeals or agency exercising the powers of any such Commission or board in the same municipality, whether or not he is a member of the Commission hearing such matter.
  • No member of the Planning and Zoning Commission shall participate in the hearing or decision of the Commission of which he or she is a member on any matter in which he or she is directly or indirectly interested in a personal or financial sense.

Members of the Planning & Zoning Commission

This commission consists of 9 members and 3 alternates. No more than 5 members may be from the same political party.

Term Type
Term Expiration
Michelle Mastropetre (Chair)Full1/31/2024R7
Richard A. PearceFull1/31/2025U4
Richard Bauer Jr.Full1/31/2026R4
Joseph McDonaghFull1/31/2026D9
Hannah LeckmanFull1/31/2026D6
Shenae J. DraughnFull1/31/2024D8
Jay CruickshankFull1/31/2025U9
Shaquilla McMillanFull1/31/2024U2

Felicia BondAlternate1/31/2025D6


D - Democrat; R - Republican; U - Unaffiliated 

Youth Members


Interested In Joining?

If you are looking to get more involved in the Town of Hamden, please join our Boards and Commissions: